Isler roof

Reproduction of the atrium roofing of the Daniel-Straub secondary school in Geislingen an der Steige

  • Planning: 2012-2014
  • Construction: 2013-14

Building description:

The listed secondary school is a four-story exposed concrete building with a central atrium. Particular design features are the sculptural concrete parapets, the central, expansive staircase and the crystalline-looking roofing of the inner courtyard as a retractable roof made of fiberglass-reinforced polyester.

Detail

The architectural effect and the geometric dimensions of the reproduction of the atrium roof are identical to the original according to the design of the Geislingen architect Veit Gmehlich while using the Isler system for large span rooflight.

The original framework dimensions of the roof surfaces, which are based on those of the coffers, are largely maintained. The coffers are visible from the inside due to their translucency. Their original arrangement is therefore part of the design.

The inner courtyard roof acts as a shell like structure out of triangular panels. All load bearing elements are made of glass fiber reinforced plastic (GRP). The roof transfers its loads to the articulated supports via the plate effect. The supports are constructed in a specific manner to allow unimpeded expansion and compression due to temperature fluctuations.

The large-format GRP sandwich panels consist of GRP coffers (height 220mm) between two a fixed GRP layers. The component panels are connected by means of hip / valley / ridge elements and a tie rod, which are bonded to one another.

Object characteristics new roofing:

  • Planning: Elke Genzel, Pamela Voigt
  • Planning hub: Dr.-Ing. Lars Janke (in cooperation with Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alexander Stahr)

material tests:

Object characteristics original roofing:

  • Adress: Daniel-Straub-secondary school, Uhlandstraße 15, 73312 Geislingen
  • Architect: Veit Gmelich, Geislingen (gest. 2010)
  • Structural engineer: Heinz Isler, Burgdorf, Switzerland (1926-2009)
  • Execution: Reinke KG, Michelstadt
  • Year of construction: 1969
  • Dimensions: approx. 15.6m x 18.6m
  • Floor plan area: approx. 220m²
  • Roof area: approx. 285m²
  • Material: glass fiber reinforced polyester resin, translucent
  • Material support: steel
  • Around 1995 the roof was renovated

Period: 2013-14

Islerdach

Nachbau der Überdachung des Atriums der Daniel-Straub-Realschule in Geislingen an der Steige

  • Planung: 2012-2014
  • Errichtung: 2013-14

Gebäudebeschreibung

Die denkmalgeschützte Realschule ist ein viergeschossiger Sichtbetonbau mit zentralem Atrium. Gestaltendes Merkmal sind die skulpturalen Betonbrüstungen, der zentrale raumgreifende Treppenaufgang und die kristallin wirkende Überdachung des Innenhofes als Faltdach aus glasfaserverstärktem Polyester.

Detail

Der Nachbau der Atriumüberdachung ist in seiner architektonischen Wirkung und den geometrischen Abmessungen identisch der originalen Überdachung nach dem Entwurf des Geislinger Architekten Veit Gmehlich unter Nutzung des Systems für Großlichtplatten des schweizer Ingenieurs Heinz Isler (1926-2009), der die Tragwerksplanung und Herstellung ausführte .

Die originalen Systemmaße der Dachflächen, welche auf denen der Kassetten beruhen, werden weitestgehend übernommen. Die Kassetten sind aufgrund der Transluzenz von Innen sichtbar. Deren originale Anordnung ist daher Bestandteil des Entwurfes.

Die Innenhofüberdachung wirkt als Schale, bestehend aber aus Dreiecksscheiben. Alle Tragelemente bestehen aus glasfaserverstärktem Kunststoff (GFK). Das Dach trägt seine Lasten über Scheibenwirkung auf die gelenkigen Auflager ab. Die Auflagerkanten und Punkte sind so gestaltet, dass bei Erwärmung/Abkühlung der Konstruktion eine ungehinderte Verformung stattfinden kann.

Die großformatigen GFK-Sandwichplatten, bestehen aus GFK-Kassetten (h=220mm) im statischen Verbund mit GFK-Deckschichten. Die Verbindung der Bauteilplatten erfolgt mittels Rippen als Grat/Kehle/First-Elemente und einem Zugband welche untereinander durch Klebung mit Überlaminat fixiert wurden.

Objekt-Kenndaten neue Überdachung

  • Planung: Elke Genzel, Pamela Voigt
  • Planung Hub: Dr.-Ing. Lars Janke (in Kooperation mit Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alexander Stahr)

Werkstofftests

  • IMA Materialforschung und Anwendungstechnik GmbH (http://www.ima-dresden.de)
  • TU Chemnitz, Professur Strukturleichtbau und Kunststoffverarbeitung (www.leichtbau.tu-chemnitz.de)

Objekt-Kenndaten originale Überdachung

  • Adresse: Daniel-Straub-Realschule, Uhlandstraße 15, 73312 Geislingen
  • Architekt: Veit Gmelich, Geislingen
  • Tragwerksplaner: Heinz Isler, Burgdorf, Schweiz
  • Ausführung: Reinke KG, Michelstadt
  • Baujahr: 1969
  • Maße: ca. 15,6m x 18,6m
  • Grundrissfläche: ca. 220m²
  • Dachfläche: ca. 285m²
  • Material: glasfaserverstärktes Polyesterharz, transluzent
  • Material Auflager: Stahl
  • ca. 1995 erfolgte eine Renovierung des originalen Daches

Errichtung: 2013-14